The Greeneville Sun
Current Weather
Partly Cloudy Partly Cloudy
67 °
Click Icon for Extended Forecast
Get Breaking News Alerts
FREE Service of
Brad & Ginia Johnston
423-823-0414 | 423-823-0716
Get special offers
Hats In The Ring
Candidates Showcase

Patty Tilson
Greene Co. Clerk

Nathan Holt
Greene Co. Trustee

Brett Purgason
Greene Co. Mayor

Robin Quillen
3rd Dist. County Commissioner

David Crum
Greene Co. Mayor

Ted Hensley
5th Dist. State Representative

David Weems
Road Superintendent

Jan Kiker
Greene Co. Clerk

Christina Blevins
Register of Deeds

Tom Hopson
Co. Mayor

Kevin Swatsell
Road Superintendent

2004 Jeep Wrangler (sahara

1928 Ford Model A Door

1997 Honda Valkyrie

1970 Nova 1 Owner 56k

2002 Ford F150 King

1996 Ford F-super Duty

Get featured here and increase your advertising results by upgrading your classified ad to a TopAd.

Call: 423-638-4185

Get featured here and increase your advertising results by upgrading your classified ad to a TopAd.

Call: 423-638-4185

Get featured here and increase your advertising results by upgrading your classified ad to a TopAd.

Call: 423-638-4185

Public Notices

April 20, 2014

choose text size bigger text smaller text

Ten To Compete For Miss Greene County Saturday

Originally published: 2012-10-09 11:26:14
Last modified: 2012-10-09 11:27:46



The Miss Greene County Scholarship Pageant is brimming over with news as the event's date of Oct. 13 is just days away.

Ten women from across the state have registered for the crown and the opportunity to win one of three different scholarships on Saturday evening when Miss Greene County moves to a new venue - the auditorium of Chuckey-Doak High School.

Yes, a new scholarship is some of the biggest news coming from the pageant.

A "Miss Congeniality Award" is being added by the former Miss Greene County titleholders in memory of one of their own, Dale Ann Dyke Ladd, Miss Greene County 1973, who died June 12, 2011.

Terri Lamons, executive director of the pageant, said the amount will be whatever is collected.

In other scholarship news, the main scholarship for the winner remains at $1,000, with the first runner-up receiving $300 and the second runner-up $200.

Since the pageant was revived by Lamons in 2007, the young woman who scored the highest on the judges' interview portion of the competition has been awarded the Jack Burkhardt Memorial Scholarship, the amount of which has flucated depending on how much money was received, largely from Mr. Burkhardt's attorney friends.

The scholarships are the reason Lamons said, in 2006, that she was interested in bringing back a defunct Miss Greene County Pageant, and while many Miss Tennessee contestants win a $500 scholarship in the local pageants, Lamons' winners have always received double that.


For the first time this year, Miss Greene County will be crowned in the auditorium of the Chuckey-Doak High School Auditorium, so those attending are reminded to notice the change of location.

The competition will begin at 7 p.m. Admission to the pageant is $5 per person.


In addition to the crowning of Miss Greene County 2012, aged 18 to 24, two teen princesses will also be selected: Miss Outstanding Teen, which has a talent portion to the competition, and a Teen Princess, which does not. Both categories are for girls 13-17.

There are five contestants entered in the Outstanding Teen competition and four in the Teen Princess division. Their information is scheduled for Thursday's edition of The Greeneville Sun.

Miss Greene County will go on to compete at the Miss Tennessee Scholarship Pageant in June 2013, and the two younger titleholders will represent Greene County as they compete at the state level in March 2013.

All state winners then go on to a national competition as these are preliminary contests for the Miss America Scholarship Pageant.


There will be special guest appearances by the current titleholders: Miss Greene County 2012, Sara Mitchell; Miss Greene County Outstanding Teen, Naomi Boling; and Miss Greene County Teen Princess, Kayla Thornton, who will each crown the winner in their respective category.

A special quartet of three Miss Greene County winners, Brittaney Chambers-Bible, Brooke Waddell-Pancratz and Mitchell will perform with Jerry Scott, winner of the 2011 "Greeneville's Greatest!" award at the Greene County Fair.

Lamons promises the widest range of talent seen so far in the Miss Greene County Pageant.


This year's contestants are:

* Courtney Bell, 21, of Church Hill, is a senior nursing student at East Tennessee State University. Her talent is clogging.

* Lilly Crouch, 22, of Greeneville, is a graduate of ETSU. She will also dance in the talent portion of the competition.

* Mackanzie Day, 18, of Harrogate, is a high school graduate of J. Frank White Academy in Harrogate. She will perform a vocal talent.

* Camille Garner, 19, of Cookeville, is a sophomore at Tennessee Technological University in Cookeville. She will perform at the piano.

* Chalea James, 22, of Talbott, is a senior at ETSU. She will perform on a flute for her talent.

* Mirissa Mitchell, 20, of Arlington, is a junior at the University of Tennessee - Knoxville. She will perform on the clarinet.

* Heather Roberts, 23, of Evensville, is a graduate of Mississippi State University. She will perform at the piano.

* Karlie Roser, 20, of Savannah, a junior at Union University, will present a vocal selection for her talent.

* Sarah Stokley, 19, of Newport, a sophomore at Walters State Community College, will present a vocal number.

* Andrea Tucker, 21, of Memphis, a sophomore at UTK, will perform a dance.

For more information and stories, see The Greeneville Sun.

More Local News

Newspapers In Education Benchmarks
Newspapers In Education
Newspapers In Education

Find more businesses on

Attorneys · Automotive · Health Care · Restaurants Retail · Services · Home & Garden · Recreation

Sponsored in part by:


Terms of Use - Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2014, GREENEVILLE PUBLISHING COMPANY, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
This content may not be reused without the express written permission of Greeneville Publishing Company, Inc.