The Greeneville Sun
Current Weather
Clear Clear
60 °
Click Icon for Extended Forecast
Get Breaking News Alerts
FREE Service of
Brad & Ginia Johnston
423-823-0414 | 423-823-0716
Get special offers
Hats In The Ring
Candidates Showcase

Patty Tilson
Greene Co. Clerk

Nathan Holt
Greene Co. Trustee

Brett Purgason
Greene Co. Mayor

Robin Quillen
3rd Dist. County Commissioner

David Crum
Greene Co. Mayor

Ted Hensley
5th Dist. State Representative

David Weems
Road Superintendent

Jan Kiker
Greene Co. Clerk

Christina Blevins
Register of Deeds

Tom Hopson
Greene Co. Trustee

Kevin Swatsell
Road Superintendent

Danny Greene

Cecil Mills
District Attorney General

1928 Ford Model A Door

1970 Nova 1 Owner 56k

1997 Harley Davidson Ultra

2004 Jeep Wrangler (sahara

1997 Honda Valkyrie

2002 Ford F150 King

1996 Ford F-super Duty

Get featured here and increase your advertising results by upgrading your classified ad to a TopAd.

Call: 423-638-4185

Get featured here and increase your advertising results by upgrading your classified ad to a TopAd.

Call: 423-638-4185

Public Notices

April 23, 2014

choose text size bigger text smaller text

BRAC All-Conference Teams Announced

Originally published: 2013-12-07 00:19:33
Last modified: 2013-12-07 00:20:18



The Blue Ridge Athletic Conference (District 2-AA) recently announced its All-Conference teams for the 2013 football season.

Highlighting the recognitions were several local players receiving special awards.

Greeneville senior Trevor Wright and Chuckey-Doak senior Tyler Coe were named the Co-Players of the Year in a vote of the league's head coaches.

Wright caught 34 passes for 714 yards and eight touchdowns on offense, averaging over 21 yards per catch. Defensively, he tallied 80 tackles in the secondary and led the team with five interceptions - two of which he returned for touchdowns.

Wright averaged 19.5 yards on punt returns and 33.4 yards on kickoff returns and returned one of each for a score.

Coe set a new Chuckey-Doak record with 2,151 rushing yards this season. He ran for 20 touchdowns.

His head coach, Ben Murphy, was named the league's Coach of the Year after leading the Black Knights to a 7-4 record and their first out-right county championship in two decades.

Greeneville senior Zack Finchum garnered Offensive Player of the Year honors after throwing for 2,275 yards and 29 touchdowns with just five interceptions.

Grainger County's Noah Bunch was picked as Defensive Player of the Year.

Greeneville senior receiver Hays Culbreth was selected as the Special Teams Player of the Year. He averaged 17.6 yards per return and ran back two punts for touchdowns. He also caught 35 passes for 75 yards and 12 touchdowns.

Greeneville senior Jake Sell was chosen as the Lineman of the Year.

Here is a list of the All-Conference selections for the three Greene County teams.

GREENEVILLE: First Team - Quan Wilson, Quan Harrison, Jalen Pruitt, Nic Wright, Caleb Ellenburg, Richard Bowens, Austin Bailey, Hays Culbreth, Jake Sell, Trevor Wright and Zack Finchum; Second Team - Jarred Adams, Wilton Chapman, Noah Starnes, Matthew Allen and Bryson Knight.

CHUCKEY-DOAK: First Team - Nick Sandstrom, Hunter Cobble, Kaleb Gregg, Jacob Quillen, Daniel Ridlin, Josh Lamb and Tyler Coe; Second Team - Rodney Greene, Landon McCamis, Trandon Ottinger, Charlie DiBella, Dillon Brown.

WEST GREENE: First Team: Justin Pinkston, Dylan Kirk, Jonathan Padgett; Second Team: Bayless Kinser, Lucas Pratt, Austin Greenlee, Cody Burnham, Trebor Wilson.

For more information and stories, see The Greeneville Sun.

More Sports News

Newspapers In Education Benchmarks
Newspapers In Education
Newspapers In Education

Find more businesses on

Attorneys · Automotive · Health Care · Restaurants Retail · Services · Home & Garden · Recreation

Sponsored in part by:


Terms of Use - Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2014, GREENEVILLE PUBLISHING COMPANY, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
This content may not be reused without the express written permission of Greeneville Publishing Company, Inc.