Greeneville quarterback Cade Ballard has been named the Region 1-4A football player of the year after leading the Greene Devils to their second straight 15-0 season and Class 4A state championship.

Greeneville receiver and Elizabethton’s Carter Everett have been named offensive players of the year. Greeneville linebacker Ty Youngblood has been named defensive player of the year, while Greeneville receiver/defensive back Cameron Hite and Elizabethton’s Corey Russell have been named athletes of the year.

Defensive linemen of the year include Greeneville’s Jacques-Gillespie-Taylor and Logan Shipley, while offensive linemen of the year include Greeneville’s Chris Everhart.

Greeneville long snapper Will Albright is the specialist of the year.

Greeneville’s Garrin Shuffler, Dalton McLain, Jaevon Gillespie, Kenny Kershaw, Trent Knight, Chris Everhart, Tommy Taylor, Nick Iezzi, CeJ Jones and Gabe Seaton have all been named first team all-region. Tyler Marsh, AJ Greenway, Jordan Gillespie and Devin Dye are honorable mention.


South Greene’s Scotty Verran has been named the Mountain East Conference football coach of the year.

South Greene quarterback Levi Myers has been named offensive player of the year, while South Greene’s Damien Starnes has been named co-defensive player of the year.

South Greene’s Nick Hopson, Jake Lawing, Tristian Biddy, Caleb Parkins, Chase Carter, Tanner Dyer, Ethan Heater and Christian Craddock have been named first team all-conference.


Academic all-conference selections include West Greene’s Lee Kibort, North Greene’s Brandon Mercer and Chuckey-Doak’s Nicholas Jennings.

Johnson County’s Nathan Lane has been named player of the year.

Chuckey-Doak’s Josh Norton has been named offensive lineman of the year, while West Greene’s Kaleb Sciarra has been named defensive lineman of the year.

Freshmen of the year are Blair Shelton of West Greene and Tyler Sanchez of North Greene.

First and second team all-conference selections include:

West Greene – Allen Vaughn, Damien Budris, Alick Daugherty, Kyler Clowers, Hunter Combs, Dacota Wood, Chase Jennings, RJ Ferguson, Damon Gladson, Eli Lawson, Tyler Sauceman, Jamie Kerney.

Chuckey-Doak – Hunter Gregg, Trevor Grubb, Hayden Rush, Noah Taylor, Cayden Phillips, Kameron Hensley, Chris Cutshaw, Kristian Barrus, Evan Murvin, Corwin Ramsey, Christian Freeman, Matthew Palazzo.

North Greene – Colton Story, Joriah Church, Cole Starnes, Jon Harrison, Caleb Morgan, Ethan Harmon, Briggs Kiker, Ethan Atnip, Sky Arwood.